My idea. . . the poem. . .

‘twas the night before two last and all through my place

my son was running and screaming, my wife red in her face. . .

then sprung an idea – so wild, crazy, and fun

I could make Christmas last longer. . .

I know it could be done.

Once my son was finally nestled into bed

With visions of Elmo and Cookie Monster dancing in his head

I sat on the couch – in my favorite Phillies jersey

The damn Yankees were winning. . . I couldn’t help but worry. . .

Then the game was over, the pennant was lost

And my idea came back to life, my eyes were glossed. . .

“The 12 Days of Christmas” I yelled so loud

I had the perfect idea. . . I felt so proud. . .

A new story each day leading ‘til Christmas

I shook up the Twitter world yelling – “YOU CAN’T MISS THIS!”

The put on my Santa hat and hooked up some lights. . .

“GET WRITING EVERYONE AND TO ALL A GOOD NIGHT!”

IDEAJIM

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Samantha W. Says:

    That is amazing! You’re a genius and so creative… An agent is going to be so set when they pick you up! 🙂

  2. 2

    Well, you’ve kept your promise. I did LAUGH!

    The picture? Priceless!

  3. 3
    Laura Eno Says:

    Funny and great photo!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jim Wisneski, Editor J. Editor J said: RT @Wisneski: In the spirit of this #12daysofchristmas idea.please read a poem I wrote for it – I promise you'll laugh! 🙂 http://ow.ly/zS9g […]

  5. 5

    It’s a pity Santa didn’t have a World Series title in his bag for Philadelphia, but the 12 Days anthology will be a fun alternative!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

