THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

With over 450 comments and an estimated 3,500 plus hits on the blog, 12 Days has ended, but people reading the stories hasn’t. And the paperback book isn’t even out yet!
I’m not even sure where to start to begin thanking all the writers, readers, and commenters who made this project bigger and better than what I had expected. I mean in reality, this was all a big risk. It was a big risk to ask for 12 writers. . . and even bigger risk to ask for 24. Then going up against NaNoWriMo and letting people submit whatever they want. . . yikes, I’m a literary madman! :)
But it’s everything I wanted. I cut the reins and said “GO!” and you 23 writers went crazy and made me proud! We’ve got stories that come in under 1,000 words and stories that reach out past 5,000. We’ve got heart felt stories about those losing their jobs in the sour economy all the way to zombie cows! (Thanks Jodi!)
To me, it’s perfect. It encompasses everyone’s true talent and ability. . . and it seems everyone had fun! It was amazing to see how many of you came back to respond to your comments and to comment on other stories. To me that shows how serious you all take writing and how passionate you are for the art. And trust me, that will shine through all your careers.
I was amazed that my poor phone didn’t stop vibrating for an entire 12 days. If it wasn’t comments, it was all you faithful Twitter-ers tweeting about the project. And to that – thank you! I personally hated Twitter until I understood how important of a tool it could be when used right.
I’m left right now kind of sad. . . sad it’s all over. I feel like I have had 23 of my best friends over for the holidays and they left. . . there’s empty plates, glasses with a few sips in them, and a sink full of dishes. So without being too cheesy, I miss you guys and gals already! I want another 12 days of stories! :)
I know this project was a first publication for a couple of you. . . I wanted to say congrats! And please remember me when your on the New York Times Bestsellers list. For others this project is another notch on a long belt and I wanted to say that I’m honored that you took time to write for the project and get involved.
And to all 23 writers – have a great holiday, a happy new year, and keep those keys clicking and pencils scribbling!

Oh, once this project is out in a book form and see the quality and response, I plan on trying my hand at another anthology. . . in time though, in time.

-Jim-

10 Comments »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jim Wisneski, Jim Wisneski. Jim Wisneski said: My thank you to all the #12days people! http://ow.ly/R4GD […]

  2. 2

    It was a wonderful experience for me, Jim! So grateful to have been included in your creative project, thank you so much!

    Yes, like you, I’m somewhat sad that it’s over. It was such a great group and I loved reading everyone’s work. What a talented bunch of people. I’m always learning from you guys!

    Here’s to continued inspiration, success, and published works in the new year!

  3. 3
    Laura Eno Says:

    I had a great time with this, Jim! Thanks for the opportunity and I loved reading everybody’s take on this.
    P.S. I promise that next time my protag won’t be named Jim. :)

  4. 4

    Oh, it’s not over yet. I still have 3 more stories to read and comment on :)

    Thank you for making this happen and giving me such a great opportunity to break free of my creative shackles and experiment. (I have not written a fantasy story before this). I apologize for holding you up though, I realize it must have been terribly frustrating.

    I am so thrilled that the 12 Days has become such a runaway success as it has. Thanks to all the other writers too, it gives me great pride and joy to be up among all of you.

    This was a such a good thing for everyone and thank you, Jim, for thinking it up and organizing it. You are amazing. Happy New Year to all the talented people who contributed, the readers, most of all, Jim and wishing you (and your families) the very best 2010 ever. I could not have asked for a better beginning than this!

    -Nishida

  5. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by Wisneski: My thank you to all the #12days people! http://ow.ly/R4GD

  6. 6
    Michelle Says:

    Thanks Jim,
    It was a great project and a privilage to be part of it.
    2010 for me is the year of getting published!
    Thank you thank you thank you!
    love hope and grace
    Mich

  7. 7

    It was such a breath of fresh air to write and be part of someone else’s project Jim.I still haven’t read all of the stories but intend to once the mad flap dash for publication ends for Chinese Whisperings on the 1st.

    Congratulations, and thanks for the chance to meet and read lots of new writers, catch up with some old friends and the opportunity to have my work published in a different sphere. And thank you for all the work which went on behind the scenes to get this project up and running (I’ve got a fair idea what would have been involved).

    Don’t immerse yourself in those soapy suds too long! Will be emailing you my idea for a Valentines anthology – you did say you wanted to do something for Valentines Day?

  8. 8

    Jim, you have made my year. I can’t believe that I have a published story out there. And it’s all because of you. I absolutely loved the excitement of the 12 Days project. I have made many new friends and I love them all. And it’s all because of you.

    I can’t thank you enough for this opportunity to write. In all honesty, after reading everyone’s stories, I would have liked to be able to have a do over. :-) I can’t believe that my story is amongst the stories of all these talented writers.

    I wish you and your family a very blessed New Year.

  9. 9

    Jim,
    I’m moving my site around and came here looking around and realized I hadn’t left a comment. I swear I had before! I’m terrible about pushing send. ;p

    THANK YOU, buddy. It was so fun to read all the stories. Great mix it was. And yeah, I sort of miss everyone too.

    I hope you are recuperating from a mad couple of months! Be sure to let us know when the book is available.

    Thanks again,
    Jodi

  10. 10

    Jim, I’m a bit late in responding but it was truly an honor to be part of this great experiment. Everyone’s work was wonderful and I can’t wait to see the paperback of all of them together! I’d be more than up for another round next year, and let me know if you do have another anthology. Thanks again. A safe and happy new year to everyone!

    David


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

